DEAR BROTHERS AND SISTERS FROM NE, I AM SORRY…

by Allwin Bright

Delhi is in the news for the wrong reasons, yet again. Nido Tania, an 18-year-old student from Arunachal Pradesh, got beaten up mercilessly in a busy south Delhi market – so much so that it apparently led to his death.

It makes me shudder to think that nobody — not a single person — was around to try and rescue him, when he was being beaten up.

Have we become so apathetic, disaffected, hypocritical, and selfish?

Why did a young student like Nido have to die such a brutal death?

Because he looked different?

Because he had a wacky hairstyle?

Because he reacted by breaking the glass door, in a moment of rage?

Because he hailed from the north-eastern part of this great country?

Something as precious as human life is lost for reasons such as these. I find it hard to digest this very fact.

You don’t get to choose your place of birth or your facial features. Why then this blatant display of outright racism towards them?

It makes me sick to the core that there are some who argue that “Nido should have been tolerant to mild teasing. That “by reacting, he only invited his own death”. I don’t understand this at all.

What’s wrong with people? Should one be spineless? For God’s sake, can you please stop the victim-blaming? It would do us a world of good.

I have been to the north-east recently. Hailing from South India, I looked different there. But, nobody treated me like an alien. Nobody stared at me.

In fact people welcomed me with open arms. They were nice people to talk to. They treated me with respect. Treat them the same way. Is that too much they are asking for?

Dear north-eastern brothers and sisters of mine,

I apologize on behalf of the fellow Indians, who have been nasty and horrible to you; I apologize for the humiliating discrimination meted out to you. I apologize that we, Indians, have been racist to the core.

I, for one, do not advocate tolerance to racial discrimination of any sort. I want you to know that I stand by you and I support your fight. I am sure there are many like me.

This post is a part of #WriteAgainstDiscrimination campaign initiated by an online news website SaddaHaq 

Link to the article

https://www.saddahaq.com/politics/writeagainstdiscrimination/dear-brothers-and-sisters-from-ne-i-am-sorry

