HOMESICK? WHO, ME?

by Allwin Bright

I’d been to Madurai this weekend. I hadn’t been home since new year. I was so excited about it. But, home was just not the same it used to be. A lot of things had changed.

Sis did not fight for the TV remote like she used to. Its World War when it comes to TV remote. But this time she just let me have it.

Mom let me sleep till noon. That too on a Sunday. Mom is very strict about attending church on Sundays. But no, not this time.

Mom washed and dried two full bags of clothes in day. Sis took care of pressing them neatly for me.

I’d just gone to bed for a nap. Sis was seeking my help with one of her college assignments. Mom slowly whispered “Hush… He is sleeping. Let him sleep now. He must be really tired.” Sis didn’t say anything. Not a word. She silently went back to her studying.

Sis had to unpack and pack my clothes and stuffs thrice because I took the laptop out of my bag every now and then. But, she didn’t complain. Not even once.

How do I explain the little sacrifices both made to ensure that I had a happy time staying at home?

It made me realize that they missed me as much as I missed them or may be even more than that.

People who know me well know that I always have a hard time to say good-bye to those I truly care for. You can imagine how hard it must have been for me to say good-bye to my mom and my sister. But I pretended to be okay and kept a smile on my face. It was the least that I could do. Bid a happy good bye to them.

When I started living alone, a friend of mine gave me this piece of advice. (She also happens to be one of the loveliest people I’ve ever met)

You’ll be fine. You’ll miss your family and thus appreciate them more. You’ll also learn more independence. This is not a bad thing. It is growth. Growing is a part of life. When you stop growing, you start dying. My best wishes to you always, Allwin!!!

And in fact, that’s exactly what seems to be happening.

