BUCKET LIST

by Allwin Bright

I make TO-DO lists all the time! I love crossing things off a list. But, I’ve never ever created a Bucket List.  Inspired by a blog I silently stalk and greatly admire, I decided to create one for this year. I signed up myself for the Day Zero Project.

Here’s how it works:

The Challenge:
Complete 101 preset tasks in a period of 1001 days.

The Criteria:
Tasks must be specific (i.e. no ambiguity in the wording) with a result that is either measurable or clearly defined. Tasks must also be realistic and stretching (i.e. represent some amount of work on your part).

Why 1001 Days? 
Many people have created lists in the past – frequently simple challenges such as New Year’s resolutions or a ‘Bucket List’. The key to beating  procrastination is to set a deadline that is realistic. 1001 Days (about 2.75 years) is a better period of time than a year, because it allows you several seasons to complete the tasks, which is better for organising and timing some tasks such as overseas trips, study semesters, or outdoor activities.

I seriously hope that I am able to pull off all my bucket list items.

Wish me a lot of luck with my list. I’ll need it.

So here it goes.

  1. Go on a date
  2. Blow an ear-piercing whistle with fingers
  3. Complete writing hundred pages with my left hand
  4. Read 50 books
  5. Get an iPhone (even an iPod would do)
  6. Make an iTunes playlist of 101 A.R. Rahman songs
  7. Learn Spanish
  8. Travel in a flight
  9. Make a list of the top 5 people who have positively influenced you and write them all letters
  10. Watch a whole season of the TV series ’24’ in real time.
  11. Ride on motor bike from Coimbatore to Madurai
  12. Play a street cricket match with kids
  13. Learn to read and write Tamil (Yes, the language is my mother tongue. And its a shame that I am not fluent in reading and writing)
  14. Learn to spin a top
  15. Fly a Kite
  16. Get hammered
  17. Go on a long ride without a destination
  18. Secretly leave presents for Christmas
  19. Have someone listen to me playing air guitar
  20. Make an omelet
  21. Call in sick to work when I am not
  22. Stick up a poster in my room
  23. Send a surprise birthday gift
  24. Sign up to become an organ donor
  25. Have a pillow fight
  26. Learn to blow a bubble with chewing gum
  27. Own a collection of 50 books. (eBooks don’t count)
  28. Ride my motor cycle at more than 100 kmph
  29. Watch 50 Kamal Haasan movies. Start afresh. (3/50)
  30. Ride Yamaha RX100
  31. Befriend 10 new bloggers
  32. Write at least one blog-post every month for a year
  33. Be an early riser for a month. (Early meaning 6:00 a.m. in the morning)
  34. Have someone eat Dosas prepared by me
  35. Gain weight
  36. Get stuffs in my laptop completely organized and accessible
  37. Spring-clean home all by myself
  38. Create a custom decal and use it on my motor bike
  39. Stay up all night
  40. Finish reading a book that is over 200 pages in a couple of days
  41. Get drenched in rain
  42. Sleep under stars
  43. Own a charm key chain
  44. Help someone else’s big wish come true
  45. Sleep until noon
  46. Watch every single episode of F.R.I.E.N.D.S  from start to finish
  47. Have a movie marathon
  48. Send a message in a bottle
  49. Window shop at every store in a Mall
  50. List 100 things that make me happy
  51. Make someone smile
  52. Laugh until it hurts
  53. Read the Bible from cover to cover
  54. Write a letter to Santa Claus
  55. Quit a bad habit
  56. Write in a journal daily for a year
  57. Turn off Internet at home for seven days
  58. Write a letter to myself to open it in 10 years
  59. Watch every movie on the imdb top 250 list
  60. Read ‘The Hobbit’
  61. Read ‘The Lord of the rings’ Trilogy
  62. Learn the basics of Photoshop
  63. Write a poem
  64. Take up an online writing course
  65. Learn how to brew tea perfectly
  66. Own a collection of 50 Ilaiyaraaja music albums
  67. Listen to an audio-book
  68. Update my Resume
  69. Buy a laptop from my hard-earned money
  70. Buy a coffee mug
  71. Take up a 30 day challenge
  72. Memorize a poem
  73. Celebrate my ‘half’ birthday
  74. Play Frisbee
  75. Push all the buttons in an elevator
  76. Go to the cinemas to see a horror movie and scream during moments that aren’t scary
  77. See 10 classic movies
  78. Beat a video game
  79. Find how many tequila shots it takes for me get really drunk
  80. Write a letter in another language
  81. Go to a concert
  82. See three movies at a cinema in a day
  83. Spend an entire day watching the extended version of all the three Lord of the Rings movies back-to-back-to-back
  84. Leave an inspirational note or a letter in someone’s book for them to find
  85. Make an infant laugh or smile
  86. Listen to an elderly person talk
  87. Sing a song over the phone
  88. Say yes to everything for a day
  89. Drink Vodka again
  90. Eat cotton candy
  91. Buy something of amazon.com
  92. Lie in bed all day
  93. List my top 100 favorite quotes from movies
  94. Write a haiku
  95. See first day, first show of a Kamal Haasan movie
  96. Read all posts of any 10 blogs I follow from the beginning
  97. Learn to cook
  98. Copy poems I like into my journal
  99. Try meditation
  100. Start a book of quotes that mean something to me
  101. Watch ‘The Bucket list’

The count down has begun! 1001 days to go. 🙂

