NEW YEAR’S HANGOVER

by Allwin Bright

Its the last day of the year.  And I have office today.  I am all dressed up and ready to go. But, there is this dilemma whether to go to work or to call in sick and stay at home watching movies. Heart wants to stay at home but, mind won’t listen. I run into my friend seeking advice. He advises me to listen to the heart and tell my mind to shut the fuck up. I kick off my shoes. The shoes fly to different corners of the room. Heart wins. It feels so liberating.  I don’t even call in sick to work. To hell with work.  To hell with office. 

I hangout with my friend in the virtual world for quite sometime. We talk until we run out of things to talk about. And I slip off for a blissful nap.

I wake up from my nap really confused. What time is it? Hell, Did I miss the new year? No I didn’t. Its still 31st December 2013. Its only six in evening.

We’re just a few hours away from the new year! The countdown for the new year has begun already. The world is getting ready to welcome the new year. While I am all alone staring at the ceiling with a blank mind. After wandering around in  a wonderland for long enough I pause and reflect on the  year that has gone by.

In every way, 2013 has been the most eventful year of my entire life. Its been a good year for me. I’ve learnt more this year than I ever have in my whole life.

2013 HIGHLIGHTS

MY FIRST MOTOR CYCLE – ‘THE BLACK STALLION’

One of the major things that happened this year, was the fact that I got my first ever motor cycle. It was a Honda Unicorn, my dream. I call him ‘Black Stallion’. Cool isn’t it?

My experiences with riding the bike were not all that good though. I didn’t fully know how to ride a geared bike. I met with accidents every now and then.  I’d let my engine get switched off at the wrong places. Picture this – The traffic lights have turned green and I am struck. I am unable to figure out how to start the engine. Vehicles behind me honking incessantly making me more nervous. How embarrassing ?

Not only that I laid my bike twice at the parking lot.  Once it created a huge dent to the petrol tank.

But then how many people learn to ride a bike without getting hurt? Not many right? May be I met with more number of accidents than others normally did.  Quiet understandable given the fact that I am a klutz.

I learned to ride eventually. I can now handle my bike reasonably well. And I think it was worth the embarrassment, accidents and the dents and scratches my bike incurred.

LIVING ALONE AND STAYING AWAY FROM FAMILY

If learning to ride a geared bike was a big challenge to me. This was nothing less.  I’ve stayed away from my family in the past.  It was nothing new to me. But, back then I had my best friends as my room-mates. But this time, I had to stay all alone. It made a world of difference. This was the first time I was completely on my own. Living alone had its perks. It meant unlimited freedom and privacy. There were no nagging obligations to cleanliness, to schedule etc. I could be my real self – Insane, Irresponsible and Lazy…

Having said that there have also been days where I’ve spent feeling lonely and isolated, days where I’ve longed to talk to someone (for some reason facebook and other social networking sites didn’t seem to help), days where I’ve been desperate to get drunk, days where I’ve cried myself to sleep, days where I’ve missed my family like crazy… I could go on. But the point is even for a person like me who prefers to spend most of the time alone, rather than with friends, living alone sometimes sucked. Perhaps its human to long for companionship. Perhaps its wired into our systems.

BIRTHDAY GIFT – A SMART PHONE

Received a smart phone as a gift for this Birthday from Mom and Sister. I love my smart phone.

PART TIME TEACHING JOB

I took up a part time job as a Hindi teacher this year. I am not that well versed in  Hindi, just good enough to be teaching ABCs of the language. I teach Hindi to students of Class VI to IX. I work on alternate days – Monday, Wednesday and Friday and  I have classes only during the forenoon. I head back for my day job after that. I was ridiculously lucky that everything fell in place for me to take up this job. Initially I found the whole teaching experience to be immensely satisfying.

But I’ve been contemplating of quitting my part time job lately. Its not that I don’t want to teach anymore. I really love teaching! I still do. Its just that I am finding teaching exhausting these days. It bogs me down. I have to take classes continuously. (4 hours on the trot). I get a break in between. It’s just a 10 minute break and I can hardly have a cup of tea during the break. After the classes I have to rush to my office. I leave for work at 8:30 a.m. in the morning and return back somewhere around mid-night. I often skip my breakfast because I have to rush to school. Of course its only on alternate days but still it takes a toll on me. After taking up the job I’ve realized that I’ve messed up sleep schedule and eating habits.  Most of all I don’t find time for myself.  It looks too overwhelming for me. But, I still do not know if I am taking the right decision. I am confused. Terribly confused.

MET MY FRIEND SUBH TWICE THIS YEAR 

I find I’m so excited I can barely sit still or hold a thought in my head. I think it is the excitement only a free man can feel, a free man at the start of a long journey whose conclusion is uncertain. I hope I can make it across the border. I hope to see my friend, and shake his hand. I hope the Pacific is as blue as it has been in my dreams. I hope.

Ellis Boyd ‘Red’ Redding, Shawshank Redemption

This was exactly how I felt before my trip to Hyderabad. I was so excited to meet Subh for the  first time in real life.

He was the first to see and recognize me. It didn’t take long for me to recognize him either. He was exactly how I had pictured him. A firm handshake and gentle hug. I pinched myself. No, this was not a dream.

Subh is such a keen listener. I talked to him about my college, family, job, friends etc. He listened to all of it.  Sometimes that is all you need. Somebody to listen to you.

At 3:00 a.m. in the morning I ask him if he is feeling sleepy. To which he replies we’ll talk.  He listens to everything with such great patience. And we went on till 5:00 a.m.

I realized that I’d found a gem of a friend in Subh.

The second time we planned for such a trip it got bigger and better. It was to Guwahati, his hometown.

I took a 10 day long leave, packed my bags and left to Hyderabad. From Hyderabad me and Subh travelled together to Guwahati. It was awesome.

Maa (Subh’s Mom) and Baba (Subh’s Father) made me feel completely at home. Despite the cultural and language differences  they accepted me wholeheartedly.

And I met Mitali, Subh’s girlfriend. She happens to be one of sweetest girls I’ve ever met. Somehow, I feel like she’s become more of a little sister in my life.

I missed all of them so badly that I was absolutely distraught when I left Guwahati.

Five days… I keep asking myself even now – Was it only for I five days I stayed there? Why did five days feel like it was a lifetime?

Thank you Subh for all the memories. I’ll treasure them for my lifetime.

We’ve planned yet another trip. This time it will be Subh coming to Coimbatore and to Madurai…  I just can’t wait.

I am counting days… 🙂

BEFRIENDING INCREDIBLE PEOPLE THROUGH THIS BLOG

I’ve befriended so many incredible people this year through this blog. They’ve all made my life better by appreciating me, encouraging me and inspiring me to be a better writer than what I am really.

This blog means a lot to me. This is a place where I share my vulnerabilities, a place where I am honest,  a place where I don’t fear being laughed at and most importantly this is a place where I feel I belong. Thanks for accepting me the way I am. Thanks for being a part of my blogging journey.

I have confession to make. I feel bad that I haven’t been reading your blogs as much as I’d like to. Life lately has been crazy. But, I am sure I’ll get back to your blog. You’ll soon see my smiling face often popping up in your blog.  🙂

P.S. – Wondering why the post is titled ‘NEW YEAR’S HANG OVER’. I’ll tell you why – I actually intended to post this one on New year’s eve. But, I had a terrible terrible hangover for this new year that I couldn’t post it. Thus, the title.

Seems illogical. But, Never mind.

